Lo siento, no hablo mucho español

I have started teaching myself Spanish!

It is not an easy task. I borrowed “Spanish for Dummies” from the Library, (another $30 saved–I LOVE FREE STUFF), and decided to pour myself a glass of wine and dive-in (to the book, not the wine).

The book came with a CD which I promptly imported onto my iTunes. As I read through the text, and made notes for myself about verbs, predicates, subjects and the like, I found myself reminiscing about grade-school french class. Yet, this time, I’m proud of my notes and am actually taking my time to absorb the information. It’s crazy what you can do when you put your mind to it–if only I would have taken french throughout high-school!

Anyways, so far I have listened a couple times to the Spanish alphabet, and a few conversations in Spanish. I can’t help but feel a bit dis-heartened that I can’t understand it, even though I just opened the book today.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Goal: Be able to recite the entire alphabet by March 15th.

In other news, I am also trying to figure out a “budget”. It’s very hard since I’ve decided to make 2012 the year of travel and adventure!

2012 Travel:

  • Ontario (visit the family) – $300 flight (thanks to west-jet credit)
  • Coachella (California) — $500 ticket + travel expenses
  • Ireland, Spain and Portugal — $ ??

How is one supposed to save the money for this? I am beginning to come to terms with the fact that I may put myself into debt after my travels. It’s a tough pill to swallow since I just got myself out in November!

Oh well, I made myself a promise!

P.S. I like to think that each moment in life has a “soundtrack”. For instance, last summer my soundtrack consisted of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Awolnation and Oh Land.

Soundtrack Spring 2012:

Fun.

(The entire CD for both of these artists is kick-ass)

Of Monsters and Men

What’s your soundtrack?

Leave a Reply

