Galway Oyster Festival

While talking to my friend Michelle via Skype, I mentioned that Galway, Ireland was on my list of places to visit. Immediately she became very excited, saying “I didn’t want to tell you where to go, because it’s your journey, but Galway was my favourite place in Ireland!”

Well, I love free information. The library, the Internet, and your friends are by far the best options for free advice! Well, after our little conversation I searched for festivals in Galway, and found that I should be in the area during one of the biggest festivals in Ireland: the Galway Oyster Festival.

Perfect!

Confession: I am NOT a fan of oysters. But, I do love a good party, and local festivals are usually the best way to experience the local culture (says the girl who has done limited travelling). Also, based on the picture I found, Guinness will be on the menu, and as I’ve been told that should be enough nutrition to get me through the day.

So what else is there to do in Galway? Well, let’s not forget that “Galway Girl” is the popular song from P.S. I love you, so it seems like the perfect place to meet my own Gerard Butler 😉

Pubs, shopping, adorable Irish country-men, I can hardly wait!

In my excitement, I stumbled on “Galway City Pub Guide” and found some very interesting looking pubs that I may need to check out! I love Irish themed pubs in Canada, so I’m sure I’ll fall over when I see the real thing!

Tig Coili

I can see myself having a pint or two here!

Murphy’s Bar

Described as an "Old man's pub", and a place for conversation, I know I'll have to check this place out while I'm in Galway!

Okay, I think you can tell that I’m super excited! I can already imagine what it’s going to be like when I post pictures of myself inside of these pubs! I am going to be there! Right there, in front of that red building! Wow!

Leave a Reply

