Budgeting Stress

Sometimes you just have to let loose. You know? You hit a wall, and sometimes the only way to climb over the wall is with a few bottles of beer in your hand.

I know that I have to save money for my trip. I booked my flight, so I’m definitely going. But, last week I was feeling really down. I just returned from Costa Rica, which was very eventful, and came home to routine. I go to work, I go to the gym, I go tanning, I read my book and I sleep. Ho Hum.

Well, last week I decided that I wanted to let loose. Well, it’s been 5 days since this decision, and I have “let loose” on more than one occasion. And although I’ve had a lot of fun, I am stressing because this week I have $0 to put towards my savings!

EEK!

Let’s break it down:

Initial Goal: $6000 (after paying for flights)

Monthly Income (cheques only): Approximately $1100/month

Tips: Approximately $400-800/month

Approximate amount of time to save: 5 months.

If I save all of my money from my cheques I will have saved $5500.

So, I just have to save $500 more from my tips. Of course, I also need to live, have fun, travel and pay for another flight.

UGH!

I know I can save the money, I just want to be able to have some fun this summer too!

Second job? It’s looking that way!

Leave a Reply

