Gary

I recently read a post titled “Traveling Through My Twenties” by Carley of findingravity.

“I’m in my twenties, so nothing ever really feels concrete.” – Carley

This is exactly how I feel. Carley chooses travel as her metaphor, and I found myself nodding my head and saying “exactly!” out loud every 5 seconds. I totally get what you’re feeling Carley: I have an education, yet can’t seem to land a job unless I go back for more, and my life feels as though it’s at a stand still.

Seriously, click the link and go read her post. It’s a breath of fresh air to know that we aren’t the only ones feeling lost in our twenties.

Gary

Taylor and Gary

Today’s post isn’t really about how lost I feel though. Today’s post is an ode to the one person who has remained constant throughout these constantly changing years. An ode to my other-half, the person I can talk to about anything without feeling even a hint of judgement. The person who knows me best.

This is an ode to “Gary”.

I have many close-friends who I know would drop their life and be by my side if I ever told them they were needed. And, to preface all the amazing things I am about to say about Gary, I just want you all to know that I love and appreciate you all so much, and by no means is this meant to upset anyone.

It is Gary’s birthday today, and I just really want her to know that despite distance and time, our friendship is something I cherish and want to last forever (cheese!).

Gary and I summer 2008 - Drinking our Crown on the Rocks

I’d like to think that we all have a Gary. Gary is your best-friend, your confidant, the person in your life that knows your deepest and darkest secrets. Gary doesn’t necessarily have to be a part of your day-to-day activities, but Gary is part of your everyday life in the sense that they are a huge influence in your life.

Gary is the one you call when you botch a job interview.

Gary is the one you call when you embarrass yourself.

Gary is the one you think about when you visit a new vegetarian restaurant, and the person you can’t wait to take there during their next visit.

Vegan Pizza made with Daiya

Gary is the one you would marry if it weren’t for the tiny insignificant fact that you don’t “swing that way”. (Yeah, I said it!)

Gary is there when you bail on the grass and injure your knee, and Gary is there retelling the story and nicknaming you Bambi.

Gary writes you a letter for everyday leading up to a trip away together, and neither of you think it’s over the top or ridiculous (yet everyone else in your life thinks you have gone insane).

Gary listens to you cry on the phone for hours about a man that broke your heart, and Gary is there with a bottle of Gin telling you how better off you are without them a mere 3 days later when you show up at their house in tears.

Gary is the person you can head to the bar with and perform “high-kicks” on the dance-floor, and yet also have the same amount of fun while lazing in a dorm-room watching MTV trash shows.

Source: so-relatable.tumblr.com

Gary offers amazing advice and yet also has an uncanny ability to make you laugh till you almost pee yourself by leaving ridiculous messages about flexible bobcats on your voicemail.

You and Gary have had many arguments, but you’ve shared more laughter, tears, moments and secrets than you can possibly remember.

Gary and you share a special bond that only the two of you will ever understand.

It is the people in your life that keep you grounded and keep you feeling sane. So for those of you that are feeling like you’re in a rut, pick up the phone and call “Gary”. They will know how to cheer you up. No matter what life throws your way, no matter how much debt your in, or how sad your love-life may seem, Gary is always there.

So Gary, you beautiful, crazy love of my life this is to you!

Happy Birthday!

This is for you Gary

2 thoughts on “Gary

  1. Pingback: Instamoments – #yeg, #yyc, #yba | Tay in Europe

Leave a Reply

