Progress Report

As of today I have $5000 in my Europe Savings Account.

  • Passport Renewal 
  • Visa Renewal
  • Flight to Ontario
  • Flight back to Canada
  • Suitable bag
  • $2000 in rent money for while I’m away

I still have a lot to get done for my trip, and the list of things I need to get done in general is even longer (i.e. switching the tires on my car etc).

Getting my passport renewed was fairly painless.

The most frustrating part of the process was parking! This goes for any of the government buildings downtown. Parking close to the building is next to impossible, and any parking within 5 blocks costs a fortune! The traffic is horrendous, there are one-way streets everywhere (yeah, I drove the wrong way, oops!), and there are pedestrians galore.

By the time I made it into the building, I was so frustrated that one glitch with my passport renewal, and I may have lost it. I now understand why there is so much security in these buildings: people’s tempers are already flaring before they even have to deal with the bureaucracy that is our government.

I was thinking about it, and what they should really do is have valet parking. Wouldn’t that be awesome? You just drive up to the building and someone else handles the traffic. I would rather pay $10 for that service than the $5 I pay to park myself. Just sayin’.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

