In between

We finally have all of our furniture at the new place! It looks so wonderful! Of course Ashley and I still need to move some things around, and once that’s done I will take a few pictures to share with those of you too far away to visit me. But, here’s a quick peak of my bed (Duvet cover: $20 Target, Pillows: $15 each Winners, Green sheets: $20 Winners, Duvet: Free Dad’s).

I have managed to get this far only because I still have NO INTERNET, and although it can be frustrating at times, it has lead to a more productive me.

Instead of spending countless hours on Pinterest while lounging in my pj’s, I am cleaning, organizing, cooking, and exploring my new neighbourhood! Seriously, if it were only me in the house I would debate foregoing the Internet altogether, but alas we have a boy living in the house, and he needs it for his x-box.

I am currently sitting at Starbucks (just a few blocks from my place!) sipping a soy-chai latte and trying to decide how to write today’s post.

I have been working on a post for the past few weeks discussing the confusions that many of us in our twenties try to navigate. But, after a bit of research I discovered that not only are their many professional articles devoted to the subject, but many of the bloggers I follow have talked about this very subject.

What I (and I’m sure many of you who have stumbled on this blog) are going through is called the “Quarter Life Crisis”. A long, yet very interesting article, published in the NY Times about is can be found here.

So, instead of writing what so many have written before me (i.e. I’m so confused; what am I doing with my life; I have an education, now what?; I thought life was going to get better; etc.) I’ll share with you some inspirational quotes and advice I’ve received lately that have helped me to feel okay about growing older.

I recently read a book called “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Jester (p 117) and in it I found this:

“The most important reason for going from one place to another is to see what’s in between.”

I love this because it reminds me that I shouldn’t be in a rush to “figure it out”. My Mumzie tells me the same thing when I begin to stress about what I’m doing: “it will all work out”.

So far, she’s been right. That’s not to say that there aren’t some bumps along the way, but when I look at where I am today, and the road I traveled to get here, I realize that the life-shattering moments passed and I always began something new.

I was so home-sick when I moved to Edmonton almost 2 years ago, but I now view Edmonton as home.

I never thought I would be renting my own place while in Edmonton, and now I am renting a house in my favourite neighbourhood.

I don’t have a super-awesome career, but I work at a wonderful restaurant with awesome people, where I make enough money to save for a Europe trip I’ve been dreaming about.

Our twenties are very confusing, there is no denying that. But we all need to stop focusing on what the end will be and take a moment to appreciate the journey.

These are the years that mistakes will be made.

But, “you often learn more by being wrong for the right reasons” (p 233, Jester).

These are the years our hearts will be broken.

But just remember to love yourself, and you can put it back together again, stronger than it was before.

These are the years we discover what we love.

Doing what you love keeps you young.

These are the years we will want to relive.

So stop running like life is a race, and slow down.

Remember that this is a journey, an important journey, and that it will all work out in the end.

4 thoughts on “In between

      • Something about the Doldrums has always stuck with me, and to never get stuck there. As an adult I can sense the Doldrums as “stagnation headaches”, I physically get a headache because I’m uninspired or stagnant. The only way to get rid of it is to DO something, be productive. I very much think “stagnation headaches” is a symptom of the Doldrums.

        p.s. Buying your ticket to Europe and figuring it out, super big way to get out the Doldrums. Can’t wait to read more about the adventure!

  1. Pingback: Day Zero: Plan. Create. Motivate. Achieve | Tay in Europe

Leave a Reply

