Favourite Veggie Blogs

We still have no Internet at the house, which although I enjoy the increased productivity, the lack of Pinterest and veggie recipes is starting to get to me.

I enjoy writing. I enjoy reading. But what I LOVE is food. I love delicious, vegan food.

No, I am not a vegan, but I love when I stumble upon a delicious recipe that is vegan. There are many people who don’t understand how vegans can give up meat and dairy, and even turn their noses up at vegan food. Thankfully society is becoming more accepting, and it’s hard to go to any decent restaurant and not find a vegan option on their menu.

Since I am experiencing some serious writer’s block, I thought I would just share a few of my favourite recipes and Vegan Bloggers that have me drooling all over my keyboard (and yes, I mean that literally).

This list is in no specific order — most of the recipes can be made vegan by substituting ingredients (Daiya in place of cheese, soy/almond/coconut milks in place of milk etc).

1. Oh She Glows – Angela Lindon (Canadian!)

I forget how I stumbled on Angela’s blog, but I am so glad that I did! I use many of her recipes because they are easy and DELICIOUS! Her blog itself is also adorable and easy to navigate which I think is extremely important because when I’m hungry and looking for a recipe the last thing I want to do is struggle to find that perfect recipe! Also, she does a lot of gluten free meals as well!

Here are a few of my favourites from her site:

As you can tell I’m a bit obsessed with her recipes!

2. Vegan Dad

If you’re vegan/vegetarian and you haven’t heard of this blogger, then you must be living under a rock. No, even if you lived there you would know. You must be living on a completely different planet! His recipes aren’t always healthy, but who says all vegan meals have to be salads? I love the Homemade Sausages with some home-made sauerkraut purchased from the Strathcona Farmer’s Market.

3. Lunch Box Bunch – Vegan recipes galore!

And these recipes I just LOVE:

Baked Beet-and-Carrot Burgers with Brown Rice, Sunflower Seeds, and Cheddar Cheese  We had these for dinner last-night and I was reminded about how good they are! Seriously, they are healthy and yummy! Even if you’re not a fan of beets, give this recipe a try, you won’t be disappointed and herbivores and omnivores alike enjoy these babies! And of course, to make vegan just omit the cheese or replace with some daiya. Just keep in mind that if you omit cheese they will crumble more.

We also add some Garlic/Dill Aioli which is: 1/4 cup veganaise, 1 tbs lemon juice, 1 tbs oil, 3-4 crushed/minced garlic cloves and 1-2 tbs of freshly chopped dill. Mix and put in the fridge for a few hours before consuming. Warning: It’s so good you may eat the entire 1/4 cup in a sitting.

Thai Coconut Curry Soup (replace for vegan ingredients) Again, this was one of those random recipes that Ashley brought home and it turned out so good! Spicy, creamy, delicious! I used tofu instead of chicken, and because of that it turned into more of a thick paste. So, if using tofu increase the liquid 🙂 But regardless it tastes good!

Anyways, hope you haven’t soaked your keyboard in drool while reading this post! I am now STARVING and cannot wait to go home and eat the left-over beet burgers.

One thought on “Favourite Veggie Blogs

  1. Pingback: Fantastic Food Friday – Organic Box and Thai Coconut Curry | Tay in Europe

Leave a Reply

