5 Steps to Get You on the Plane

When I tell people that I am traveling to Europe in September their first question is “With who?”

“By myself” I say.

“You are so brave!”

I usually smile, and I truthfully reply, “I don’t feel brave, but the more people tell me that the more I feel like I should be scared”.

Don’t get me wrong, I am petrified to hop on a plane (I HATE FLYING) and soar over the Atlantic Ocean to a different continent. I literally get a wave of anxiety sometimes when I’m by myself pondering life, and I realize that I have “bravely” booked a flight over seas.

So if I’m not brave, then what caused me to book my flight in a split-minute decision?

I was restless.

I am suffering that Quarter-Life-Crisis I mentioned before. And, as I am the type to rip the band-aid off with no regard for arm hair, I clicked the “purchase” button and determined my life plans.

Still confused “how” I did it? I made a 5-Step Foolproof List for you:

5 Steps to Get You on the Plane:

  1. Write down everything you want to do regardless of money or any other inhibiting factors. Pick a destination.
  2. Write down the external factors that you believe are stopping you from achieving your dream.
  3. Go online, and book your flight. (Seriously! Put the lists aside and go book your flight/whatever the first step in achieving your goal may be.) *Be logical, my advice is give yourself at-least 6 months till your date-of-travel.
  4. You’re already committed, so now you have to figure out how to get around those inhibiting factors.
  • It may seem daunting. I am lucky enough to have very little responsibility, and I have a job that pays really well so saving money quickly was easy. But, you’ve booked your flight so figure it out! If you’re in your twenties, look for the job that will pay you the most! You have a goal, so do what you need to do to achieve it, and stop making excuses! Fact: your life will be waiting for you when you get back if you choose to return to it.
    5.  Make sure you have the logistics figured out i.e. passport renewal, emergency funds in the bank, visas and do your research (it’s the fun part!).

So for those of you who think I’m brave and think “I could never do that! I’m not brave enough”, STFU (sorry, that was rude), enough of that negative self-talk! No, you are not brave, you are probably scared shitless, but my advice is take some laxatives and make the brave (or stupid) decision to do what you want.

When I talk to older individuals they say “good for you!”, “Do it while your young”, “I wish I would have travelled more when I was younger”. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be in my mid-forties wishing that I had travelled.

You have money issues? A baby? Student loans to pay back? A boy-friend/girl-friend?

Well this is your rude wake-up call: none of this is holding you back; the only thing in your way is you. So, get out of your own way!

It probably won’t be easy, and right now you can’t see how you are going to get from “here” to “there” but believe me it will happen! You don’t need to be able to see the path, because you’re already on it!

4 thoughts on “5 Steps to Get You on the Plane

    • I have no idea where I am going yet. I was hoping for some recommendations from people (like you!) who have been there before. What was your favourite spot? Anything “off the beaten path” you’d like to share? I’ve heard Basque Country in northern Spain is beautiful…but then again I’ve heard all of Spain is beautiful.

      • My favorite place was Salamanca in Castilla-Leon. It’s a gorgeous city with a great nightlife. The Plaza Mayor is considered to be the most beautiful in all of Spain. The Basque Country is beautiful. If you’re going during warm weather months, I would recommend San Sebastian, the beach there is beautiful. Bilbao has a Guggenheim Museum which is cool. There are 2 important things to know about the Basque Country, though. 1. They have a separate language, so it could be more difficult to find your way around as signs won’t necessarily be in English or Spanish. 2. There is some separatist activity that occasionally leads to violence there. It hasn’t been as bad recently, but if you can, avoid the Basque Country during major holidays, just as a precaution. Other places that are fun: Toledo, Alicante (on the Mediterranean), and Granada.

      • Thanks for the tips! I hadn’t realized Basque Country was it’s own entity–I still have some research to do! Salamanca has just been added to my destination list! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

