Another Monday – 15 Weeks to Go

15 Weeks till I get on a plane!

Honestly, there is so much going on right now that I can’t seem to see the “finish” line that is Europe. I have been dreaming of this trip since I graduated from University. I made my dream a reality when I booked my flight in March. But, sometimes when the reality is right in front of your face, you can’t see it.

I find myself so consumed by what life has been throwing my way lately that the excitement I should be feeling for Europe has been suppressed.

When I booked my flight in March, I thought the following 6 months would be filled with the excitement of planning, packing and bragging of my travels. The reality is that there are bills to pay, relationships to nurture, and groceries to purchase.

I like to live in the moment, but I think so much of me “needs” the escape to Europe that I’m letting life pass me by until September 6th, which is, well, sad.

So, I am trying my best to take each day and make it something wonderful. Yes, Europe is going to be an amazing journey, one that I hope you will all follow on my blog. BUT, I still have my life to live her in Edmonton. And, although my days in Edmonton are numbered, I should still enjoy my time here, right?

Darn these twenty-something insecurities I have!

On a happier note, I have a funny story for you:

Thursday night I came home from work around 2am, and immediately went to bed. Well, after working for 8 hours, I need to unwind, so I put on a movie (Parenthood) and poured myself a hot-cup of tea. I was lying on my back, the computer propped on my pillow to the right, and I reached over with my left hand for my tea. Well, I guess I was holding the cup awkwardly because my arm twisted in a very unnatural way and Idropped the cup of tea!OW! It was hot, and it soaked the entire left side of my bed!

Fast-forward to Friday evening. I arrived home around 3am and again was very thirsty. I crawled into bed, put on a movie (Parenthood, again) and poured myself a cold water bottle of water. I was lying on my back, the computer propped on my pillow to the right, and I reached over with my left hand for my water bottle. Well, I guess I was holding the water bottle wrong (sound familiar?) and I dropped the water bottle onto my duvet! Well, I soaked the entire left side of my bed, again!

New rule: no liquids allowed in my room!

Here is a sneak peak for tomorrow’s post (40 life lessons):

Perfect relationships don’t exist. – There’s no such thing as a perfect, ideal relationship.  It’s how two people deal with the imperfections of a relationship that make it ideal.

Leave a Reply

