Instagram Weekends – Morning Glory Muffins & Canvas Painting

My weekend started early this week: Wednesday and Thursday I had off of work (thank goodness!), so I decided to conquer some things on my Day Zero List.

First: I accomplished #88 on my list (Personal). Let’s just say that I have officially made peace with my past.

Second: I began #36.

I began painting on Canvas today! I have “technically” painted something on a canvas, but I want to be 100% satisfied with my piece of art before I mark it as complete on my list. I am a perfectionist after-all.

I went out after my personal accomplishment, bought some supplies, and painted for the first time since elementary school!

Now, I know that tomorrow is Fantastic Food Friday, but since I already have a post prepared for it, I thought I would just go ahead and share my success tonight! I am just so excited about my Morning Glory Muffins that waiting until tomorrow or later next week was too much for me to handle.

I have ZERO skill when it comes to baking. I usually screw it up somehow (mistaking flour for baking soda for instance), and I am always discouraged. But, I got the urge to bake the other night, so I looked online for a recipe (not technically vegan), shopped at Bulk Barn, and got baking!

The result:

Both Carter and Ashley agreed that these wereamazing!First: Super tasty! Second: Easy to make (even for me!)

Also, I left out the raisins and added in 1/4 more of pecans.

Happy Baking!

For the recipe visit Honey & Jam.

Morning Glory Oat Muffins

1/2 cup raisins
1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup old fashioned oats
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups carrots, peeled and grated
1 large apple, peeled, cored, and grated
1/2 cup shredded coconut, sweetened or unsweetened
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/3 cup wheat germ, optional
3 large eggs
2/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup orange juice
demerara sugar, for topping

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin tin, or line it with papers and spray the insides of the papers. 

In a small bowl, cover the raisins with hot water, and set them aside to soak while you assemble the rest of the recipe.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Stir in the carrots, apple, coconut, nuts, and wheat germ, if using. In a separate bowl, beat together the eggs, applesauce, vanilla, and orange juice. Add to the flour mixture, and stir until evenly moistened. Drain the raisins and stir them in. Divide the batter among the wells of the prepared pan, filling almost to top. Sprinkle with demerara sugar.

Bake for 23 to 25 minutes, until domed and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven, let cool for 5 minutes in their pan on a rack, then turn out of pans to finish cooling.

4 thoughts on “Instagram Weekends – Morning Glory Muffins & Canvas Painting

  1. Pingback: Learning The Medium To Create Oil Canvas Paintings

  2. Pingback: Dinner to Warm You Up on a Cool, Rainy Day « jovinacooksitalian

  3. Pingback: This is me | Tay in Europe

  4. Pingback: Morning Glory Variations & Beach Day via Instagram | Tay in Europe

Leave a Reply

