Instagram Weekend: Food, food, and MORE food

Food. That is one word I could use to describe this entire weekend. Kim and I spent our time making delicious vegan food. Lots of it!

I don’t have pictures of everything (I ate it before I remembered to snap a picture, oops!), but I did take pictures of a lot of it AND I also will tell you about some of the amazing (and not so amazing) finds we made during our adventures in cooking.

YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE! No, they don’t taste even a bit healthy, but that is why it’s so amazing! 1.5 minutes in the microwave and you have yourself a sinfully delicious imitation meat sandwich! Kim and I aren’t big on food that try to taste like meat, but we couldn’t resist trying this out–it’s been YEARS since either of us have had a rib. I’m not sure if this is what ribs taste like, but whatever taste Gradein has going on is good in my books.

Vegan Saigon Sub with Tempeh

Vegan Saigon Sub

Yepp, we made our own Saigon Sub! We both work as servers at Original Joe’s, and decided to try and make this menu item vegan. It was a success. Of course, it was another not-so-healthy meal option from the weekend, but it was super tasty! Hoisin Peanut Sauce, Chili Soy Sauce and Chili Garlic “mayo” on a sub bun with avocado, shredded carrot, cucumber and sesame-garlic-tempeh strips. Yepp, it was delicious!

Sangria

Sangria – White & Red

We topped off the evening with some sangria. Apricot Brandy, red wine (white for Julien) and pineapple and OJ combined with fresh fruit made for some amazing dessert! Yummy!

Vegan Tofu Benedict I’m sorry the picture is so blurry; I was so excited to eat it I didn’t bother to check the picture’s quality until all the food was devoured. There is a taquito in the background (GROSS!), so ignore that. The rest is a delicious vegan tofu benedict. Yepp, Kim and I have mastered a vegan hollandaise sauce!

Want to know our secret?

Well, we’ve been making this for about 3 years now, and I think I’m finally ready to share it.

Vegan Hollandaise Sauce

1 can (14 oz) coconut milk

1 cup un-flavoured soy milk

2 tbsp arrowroot (or other thickener)

1/2 bullion cube (vegan)

1 tbsp Turmeric

1/2 tsp salt

3-4 Cloves of Garlic

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 tbsp lemon juice

Directions:

Whisk Coconut Milk, soy milk, bullion, arrowroot, turmeric and salt together.

Heat pot over medium heat. Add in crushed garlic cloves. Saute for 1 minute or so (DO NOT BURN) and add in red-wine vinegar.

Wait till most of the vinegar has evaporated (3-5 minutes).

Add in half the coconut milk mixture (slowly).

Constantly whisk, and add in the rest slowly, always moving and wait till it comes to a light boil.

Turn down heat to a simmer and stir until thickens.

Add in 1 tbsp lemon juice right before serving.

Serve over fried tofu, avocado and ‘buttered’ english muffins.

Adapted from: Vegetarian Times Tofu Mimosa

I would recommend playing with the spices a bit. Kim and I make it differently every time, but this is a rough estimate of what we do. However, if you follow (roughly) the vegetarian times version you will quickly master your own hollandaise.

Meet Kona, Kim’s 1-year-old lab-shephard-(?) puppy

Vegan Waffle Cone with mint marble fudge “ice cream”

After a delicious vegan-filled weekend I came home to Edmonton only to find that my roomies were suffering. There was no food in the fridge, and both of them (coincidentally) texted me at the same time to ask what we were doing for dinner. Oh dear! So I made us a lovely pescetarian meal of fresh fruit, salad, home-made pico de gallo, and fish tacos!

And that was my weekend via Instagram! Hope you aren’t too hungry…

One thought on “Instagram Weekend: Food, food, and MORE food

  1. Pingback: Fantastic Food Friday – Daiya Havarti Wedge | Tay in Europe

Leave a Reply

