Fantastic Food Friday – Daiya Havarti Wedge

Hi all!

It’s Fantastic Food Friday, and boy-oh-boy do I have something delicious to share with you!

I found Daiya Havarti Wedges here in Edmonton! It’s sold at Bushlane Organic Market on Whyte Avenue and it was on sale too! ($4.65) I was so excited when I found them, and decided to purchase the Jalapeno Garlic Havarti Style Wedge because I thought it would add the most flavour to my food, and because I love Jalapeno-Garlic flavoured anything.

The verdict?

Resealable Packaging

Packaging: 4.5/5

I LOVE THAT THIS IS RESEALABLE! So, why only 4.5? Well, because I’ll give them full kudos when they put their shreds into a resealable bag, just sayin’.

Served Cold: 2.5/5

The flavour is still spicy-deliciousness, but the texture is all wrong. As with the shreds, this product is definitely best served melted. I tried to eat a piece cold, and it turned into a paste in my finger tips, and I found it pretty hard to swallow.

Served Melted: 5/5

YUMMY! Since I was first introduced to Daiya I have always raved about the taste and texture when it’s melted on nachos or in pasta. Personally, I prefer my cheese melted, so I don’t think this is a problem. Just like real cheese, Daiya should be consumed in moderation (although I will probably finish the wedge in less than a week), so not being able to slice it up and serve it as a snack with crackers is probably better for my stomach, and my wallet.

Well, I couldn’t just write about the texture, I also had to let you know how it tasted with my favourite vegan meal.

I made my vegan hollandaise sauce for dinner the other night and served it on top of melted Havarti, sauteed veggies, and avocado on an english muffin.

Oh-Em-Gee! I Had no idea my meal was missing something until I tried this! It added a ton of flavour, and a gooey-cheesy texture that the shreds don’t seem to achieve!

Overall Verdict: 4.5/5

In comparison to all of the other vegan cheeses I’ve tried it’s definitely at the top. Also, it doesn’t contain any common allergens (yepp, NO SOY!), and for that it gets extra points.

I can’t bring myself to give it a 5/5 yet though. Why? I believe that Daiya will soon be making a cheese that I can consume cold that won’t become mush in my fingers. I believe!

Thanks Daiya!

Leave a Reply

