Food in Seville and Cadiz, Spain

Hola!
I have a few good posts coming in the next few days about Granada, including a trip to a vegetarian restaurant! Yay! But, due to a lack of power sources, and Internet connection, it’s going to take a while to get it all online. With 11% remaining on my battery I’m hoping I can quivkly write about tge food I had while I was in Seville and Cadiz.
I was sick of tapas by the time I got to Seville. Usually deep-fried or consisting of cheese, vegetarian or seafood based tapas left a lot to be desired. Having a week in Seville, I decided to utilize the kitchen at the hostel and make some of my own meals and also go exploring for some not-so-Spanish cuisine.
Vegan in Seville is a post I wrote about a vegan bakery in Seville! This adorable place also had a menu (which I regretfully did not try).
Sandwiches
I wrote a post about some good ideas for meals to cook while abroad. For solo meals, sandwiches were the easiest and also the most inexpensive; 6 euros worth of ingredients was enough for 4 sandwiches at least.

20121004-170514.jpg

20121004-170620.jpg

20121004-170657.jpg
If you head to larger supermarkets, hummus is pretty easy to find. Also, roasted red peppers are inexpensive and will last you a week. Add a side of fresh fruit or mixed nuts and you’re good to go!

20121004-170856.jpg
Lucky me, the Festival if Nations was happening during my time in Seville, so I was able to enjoy some Indian food as well as some Thai food! I had a pakora from India which was delicious, while my Thai dish was bland.

20121004-171531.jpg

20121004-171612.jpg
Then, in Cadiz, I stopped at a restaurant beside the beach. I’m not too sure of the name (sorry!) but the food was pretty good, and I only spent 7 euros on a salmon salad, a tostada and a bottle of water!

20121004-171845.jpg

20121004-171851.jpg
But my favourite find in Seville (after the vegan bakery) was Rayas.

20121004-171949.jpg

20121004-171956.jpg
GELATO! And it was only a 2 minute walk from the hostel! Thankfully I found this my last night, otherwise I would’ve eaten here every night! It was delicious! Seriously, give it a try!

6 thoughts on “Food in Seville and Cadiz, Spain

      • I’ve never taken my iPhone overseas with me, but think I’m going to this spring. Did you get a international data plan… or do you just airplane mode and use wifi?

      • Airplane mode with wifi šŸ™‚ — it’s way too expensive even with a plan to use my phone over here … There is free wifi everywhere these days so is worth it–and it’s awesome for blogging! No heavy computer needed!

  1. Pingback: Next Travel Stop – Seville – Eating and Shopping! « As Time Goes…Buy

Leave a Reply

