Roaming charges

20121009-092047.jpg

Do you see in the sidebar to the right where it says ‘cry’? Well this is one of those moments.
Well, it’s more a crying on the inside moment because there is little I can do about it right now.
I wrote a post before I left about using your iPhone abroad.
The good news: the tips and advice I have are still good!
The bad news: I didn’t follow my own advice for a mere 15 minutes while in Paris.
It was September 14. I arrived in Paris and I had no hostel booked, was overwhelmed by the large city, and had been turned away from a hostel I hoped to just show up at. I was alone and I was sad.
I called my best-friend.
And no, that wasn’t the expensive part of this ordeal. A 25 minute conversation cost me only $50! Not bad!
But, I was still lost, and in this state of panic I foolishly turned on my data to check my google maps.
Honestly, it was on for no more than 15 minutes!
But alas, two days ago I got a wonderful bill from Rogers for over $700! And, nearly $600 of that is just in data roaming.
One day. One fifteen minute period of panic. One moment of panic that has cost me dearly.
Is Rogers to blame? Right now I want to call them and say some very choice words. But, I was warned.
What are your thoughts? I don’t think I should have to pay $700 to Rogers considering I’ve been a loyal customer for over 10 years. Think they’ll take 50% off for me to ease the blow?
This is definitely one of those kicking-myself-in-the-ass moments.

2 thoughts on “Roaming charges

  1. OMG how horrible! That’s absurd. I have a friend that was in a similar situation and AT&T met them halfway… I would say it’s certainly worth a try. 15 minutes. C’mon… have a soul phone company.

Leave a Reply

