La Sagrada Familia – Barcelona

Oh Barcelona, how I wish I had more time (and energy) to explore all of what this city has to offer.
I was sick in Barcelona. Fever, stomach flu, ‘wish I was at home in my own bed’ sick.
My last day in Barcelona I didn’t plan on leaving my bed. But, all I could think was ‘I might never come back here’. So, I forced myself to eat some food (1 euro fruit smoothies from La Boqueria Market are heaven) and couldn’t resist trying one of the delicious vegetarian tempura wraps.

20121106-213232.jpg
At around 2pm I finally gathered enough energy to metro to La Sagrada Familia.
Now, thankfully I was visiting during low-season, so I only waited in line for about 20 minutes. Entry: 14 euro (ouch) plus another 3 euro for the audio guide. If you’re going inside the Sagrada, spend the extra 3 euro, it’s worth it. I didn’t pay to go up in the tower (another 3 euro) because there are scheduled times and the next available was at 4pm. I wasn’t sure how long I would last so I opted out of the view.
If you like art, Gaudi, Architecture or history this is definitely a must see. If you’re like me and old buildings don’t usually excite you, I would personally save my 17 euro and just look up pictures online.
It is beautiful.
It is awe-inspiring.
It is a ‘must-see’ in Barcelona.
But, I already knew after visiting the Alhambra and the Cathedral in Seville that this sort of thing doesn’t really inspire me. But, I was told by multiple people I had to see it.
Check. It’s off my list.
Seriously–I am done visiting churches and historical buildings. It’s just not my thing. Unless of course inside a church there is a famous pastry: I’ll pay 20 euro just so I can try a new food. Food is where my priorities lye.
Anyways, here are some pictures from La Sagrada Familia.

20121106-213945.jpg

20121106-213936.jpg

20121106-214028.jpg

20121106-214049.jpg

20121106-214059.jpg

20121106-214114.jpg

20121106-214138.jpg

20121106-214152.jpg

20121106-214213.jpg

20121106-214223.jpg

20121106-214237.jpg

Have you ever been to Barcelona? What were your favourite sites or activities?

4 thoughts on “La Sagrada Familia – Barcelona

  1. Pingback: Barcelona – Must See Spots « As Time Goes…Buy

  2. Ah, what a pity La Sagrada Familia wasn’t a match for you! It’s one of the reasons I want to revisit Barcelona (after paying pilgrimage to a shoe store in Barri Gotic and camping out at the food market).

    But I can totally relate to ‘seeing too many churches/monuments’ as I experienced a similar feeling when I was in Thailand and Cambodia (visiting, no doubt, beautiful temples day after day…but after a while everything started to look the same…).

    PS. Thanks for posting up info on your Portugal trip! I’ll have to refer to your posts for itinerary inspiration and transport tips next year!

  3. NO! I’ve never been and am quite desperate to go. I will spend hours laying on the floor (and being stepped on!) in Sagrada Familia, just looking up. My favourite photo of yours is that fantastic ceiling shot.

Leave a Reply

