Meandering the streets of Prague

There is no denying it. Prague is beautiful.
‘What’s so great about Prague?’ someone asked me the other day.
For me, the colorful tall buildings of the Old Town combined with the sound of street musicians playing Jazz in the Square and the smell of hot wine from nearby street-vendors mixed together into the most perfect Autumn scene.
But, for others Prague is something completely different.
I already wrote a fee post about Prague: Prague at Night and Foodie Haven in Peague — so check them out for some other pictures and my first impressions of the city.

20121112-220240.jpg
The Charles Bridge is the most famous image of Prague. Statues line the walkway and during the day there are artists, musicians and beggars as well. Every tour book will tell you to go during off-peak times such as the morning or at night. I went around 7:30 pm and it was fairly quiet, but I’m sure if you went in the early morning it would be better. If you’ve got a good camera you could get some amazing foggy-morning photos!
I walked this bridge everyday on my way to sites and just to be there. It’s crowded, but don’t rush across! Take the time to stop and admire the view.

20121112-220832.jpg
My advice: head to the bridges on either side for some great views of the bridge itself.
Next I wandered to Kampa Park.

20121112-221014.jpg

20121112-221021.jpg
As I mentioned in previous posts, I love Autumn! This park was beautiful and I found the creepy baby sculptures by David Cerny.

20121112-221217.jpg
Then, not even a 5 minute stroll away is the Lennon Wall.

20121112-221633.jpg

20121112-221643.jpg

20121112-221652.jpg
Then, up to the next bridge, outside of the Kafka Museum, I found David Cerny’s Proudy (stream) sculpture. Or, as most people call it: two guys pissing.

20121112-222204.jpg
What’s really interesting is they move and the streams spell out famous quotes from Czech Literature into a puddle shaped like the Czech Republic! Hilarious!
Next up is a not-so-hilarious statue: Don Giovanni, in memory of Mozart.

20121112-222959.jpg
Yeah, it’s pretty frightening!
Next up is a Church. Yes, I know, I said I didn’t like churches. But this church was free and took zero effort to get to! Awesome! And, it does look pretty phenomenal inside and there is a severed hand hanging from the ceiling! Say what!?! Cool right!?

20121112-223214.jpg

20121112-223354.jpg
Above is a view from halfway up Petrin Hill. GO THERE! And, don’t be lame like me, go to the top! Views are free!

20121112-223530.jpg

20121112-223555.jpg
There are still old-style looking trams in Prague, but don’t be fooled, as they have some of the most modern transit I’ve seen so far!
Music in Prague
The real reason I left sunny Spain and Portugal for cold and dreary Prague was for the music. I had met a woman when I was in Paris last time, and she raved about the Opera she had seen, and told me how Prague is really famous for orchestras as well.
The first concert was an intimate performance with a quintet playing in the small Spanish Synagogue.

20121112-224201.jpg

20121112-224218.jpg
They performed the Best of Gershwin and it was an awesome performance.
But, it didn’t compare to the following night.

20121112-224409.jpg
I watched the Czech Philharmonic perform in the Rudolfinum! Wow! They played symphonies by Dvorak and their conductor, Jiri Belohlavek was superb! I had goosebumps the entire performance! Honestly, the best solo moment of my entire trip!
And there you have it. That was Prague. I think I’m going to need to return – who’s with me!?

6 thoughts on “Meandering the streets of Prague

Leave a Reply

