Vegetarian in the UK

It’s time for a FOOD post!!
One thing I can say I’m enjoying about the UK is the plethora of food options! Feel like Thai? No problem! Curry? Just go around the corner! Salad? Take your pick! Greasy, delicious deep-fried goodness to cure your hangover? Not to worry!
Yes, I am back in my element!
Check out my foodie finds!!
Edinburgh, Scotland
First of all, loads of the pubs in Edinburgh offer a vegetarian version of the classic Haggis, yay!
1.) So no need to go to Pub 1780; but, I really enjoyed theirs so I have to give them a shout-out! Check-out my post about veg-Haggis here.

20121121-225524.jpg

2. Hula Juice Bar
They offer fresh juice, smoothies, milkshakes, lattes and have soy milk! The menu clearly labels vegetarian and vegan options, too! I had a Moroccan chick-pea soup and a wrap for only £5.50!

20121121-225836.jpg
3. Baked Potato Shop
This isn’t a healthy option, but an affordable and filling one. It’s also completely vegetarian and clearly labels vegan options (including haggis!)
Try their haggis samosa!

20121121-230157.jpg
Also, check out my Facebook status after my visit:

20121121-230331.jpg
London, UK
4. inSpiral Lounge
This place is amazing! Located right beside the Camden Locks, overlooking the canal with plenty of seating and a kick-ass menu, inSpiral is exactly what I needed. I indulged in a raw mushroom burger, a side of steamed root vegetables and a raw carrot cake for dessert.

20121121-230650.jpg

20121121-230657.jpg

20121121-230704.jpg
The raw burger was well-seasoned and very filling. The steamed veggies were also yummy. The real winner was the carrot cake. Yummy! Not too sweet but definitely had the perfect texture: almost a mix between a cheesecake and a muffin. I’m drooling just thinking about it…I want to go back for some smoothie action. If I do, I’ll let you know 😉
5. Comptoir Libanais
Middle-eastern deliciousness at a great price! I was so full after my meal.

20121121-231118.jpg
You MUST get the fresh rose-mint tea!
For more on London check-out this post.
6. Ben’s Cookies! A sinful treat. The white-chocolate & cranberry cookie was amazing! (sorry no picture for this one)
7. I did not go here, but wanted to very badly! So, someone else check it out and let me know how it is! The Coach & Horses on Greek St. in Soho is vegetarian!
8. M & S Supermarkets
There were loads of vegetarian options, as well as a few vegan ones, for take-away! And, they’re always close-by to metro and train stations. Super convenient!
There was so much more I wanted to try but my wallet did not allow it. Next time!

Leave a Reply

