Until the next adventure…

Many travelers find it difficult to come home after an extended adventure.

So, is it going to be difficult for me?

At the moment, I am quite content at home. But, I know that this will soon wear-off. Soon the realities of “life” will hit me, and I will need to find a job, buy a car and find a place to live.

Now, some of you are thinking: “You don’t need to live that life”, and you’re right. Sure, I could go back to serving or find a really well-paying job that I don’t like and be on another adventure in a far-away place in six-months; but, I don’t want to.

*GASP* Fellow travelers are disgusted by my comment, I’m sure.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel. I have definitely caught the travel bug, and cannot wait to be on the road again. I loved waking up in a new place every couple days. I loved the feeling of uncertainty. I loved meeting new people and sharing new experiences. I loved every moment in Europe.

But, I don’t want it to be my life. I enjoy coming home. I enjoy having a place of my own. I enjoy shopping for clothes and home decor. I enjoy knowing that I still have a life to come home to. I enjoy these things, but it has been a long time since I have felt it.

This is why I’m starting my new blog: Tay at Home. The truth is, I have come back from three months in Europe to a brand-new life. I am starting from scratch. I grew-up in London, but many of my friends have since left, or have lives of their own. This is okay, but now comes the tough task of doing that for myself. I may not be lost in Paris, but the feeling of being lost in your hometown is an adventure in itself.

Will I continue to travel? Of course! I plan on setting up a savings account strictly for travel, and I cannot wait to meet-up with my travel friends in far-away places or even here in Canada. I want to see India, Southeast Asia, Costa Rica (again), Brazil, Chile, Georgia (the country), Turkey and the Azores. I want to see the world. I just don’t want to leave my life behind to do it.

I want the best of both worlds–is that too much to ask?

So, head over to Tay at Home to follow my next adventure!

smashing_mag_header copy

One thought on “Until the next adventure…

Leave a Reply

